Tour de France Statistics, History and Facts (2021)

Here are a few of the most interesting Tour de France statistics and facts I was able to dig up in my internet travels. As always, be sure to check back in the future as I will be updating this post as new and updated stats become available.

Tour de France Fun Facts and Statistics

Tour de France website:

Tour de France 2021 dates:

June 26-July 18, 2021

What does the Tour de France winner actually win?

A total of around 2.3 million euros will be awarded to the teams and riders, including 500,000 euros to the winner of the final individual general classification. (source)

Tour de France Apps:

iPhone | Android

Where does the Tour de France take place?

It changes, but the 2019 Tour takes place across France and Belgium. You can find the Tour de France map here.

When did Tour de France begin?


Tour de France organizers:

Amaury Sport Organization

Past Tour de France winners:

1903Maurice Garin
1904Henri Cornet
1905Louis Trousselier
1906René Pottier
1907Lucien Petit-Breton
1908Lucien Petit-Breton
1909François Faber
1910Octave Lapize
1911Gustave Garrigou
1912Odile Defraye
1913Philippe Thys
1914Philippe Thys
1915-1918Nobody (World War 1)
1919Firmin Lambot
1920Philippe Thys
1921Léon Scieur
1922Firmin Lambot
1923Henri Pélissier
1924Ottavio Bottecchia
1925Ottavio Bottecchia
1926Lucien Buysse
1927Nicolas Frantz
1928Nicolas Frantz
1929Maurice De Waele
1930André Leducq
1931Antonin Magne
1932André Leducq
1933Georges Speicher
1934Antonin Magne
1935Romain Maes
1936Sylvère Maes
1937Roger Lapébie
1938Gino Bartali
1939Sylvère Maes
1940-1946Nobody (World War 2)
1947Jean Robic
1948Gino Bartali
1949Fausto Coppi
1950Ferdinand Kübler
1951Hugo Koblet
1952Fausto Coppi
1953Louison Bobet
1954Louison Bobet
1955Louison Bobet
1956Roger Walkowiak
1957Jacques Anquetil
1958Charly Gaul
1959Federico Bahamontes
1960Gastone Nencini
1961Jacques Anquetil
1962Jacques Anquetil
1963Jacques Anquetil
1964Jacques Anquetil
1965Felice Gimondi
1966Lucien Aimar
1967Roger Pingeon
1968Jan Janssen
1969Eddy Merckx
1970Eddy Merckx
1971Eddy Merckx
1972Eddy Merckx
1973Luis Ocaña
1974Eddy Merckx
1975Bernard Thévenet
1976Lucien Van Impe
1977Bernard Thévenet
1978Bernard Hinault
1979Bernard Hinaultdagger
1980Joop Zoetemelk
1981Bernard Hinault
1982Bernard Hinault
1983Laurent Fignon
1984Laurent Fignon
1985Bernard Hinault
1986Greg LeMond
1987Stephen Roche
1988Pedro Delgado
1989Greg LeMond
1990Greg LeMond
1991Miguel Indurain
1992Miguel Indurain
1993Miguel Indurain
1994Miguel Indurain
1995Miguel Indurain
1996Bjarne Riis
1997Jan Ullrich
1998Marco Pantani
1999-2005Nobody (Lance Armstrong was stripped of his wins)
2006Óscar Pereiro
2007Alberto Contador
2008Carlos Sastre
2009Alberto Contador
2010Andy Schleck
2011Cadel Evans
2012Bradley Wiggins
2013Chris Froome
2014Vincenzo Nibali
2015Chris Froome
2016Chris Froome
2017Chris Froome
2018Geraint Thomas
Please note that some of these numbers are easier to find than others. These Tour de France stats are based on news reports and not official company tallies. No information contained on DMR should be relied upon to make investment decisions. Basically, this is the best I can find and I don’t guarantee anything to be 100%.